Maine dish · Photography

Vegetable noodles

vegetable noodles

A few days ago I went to the kitchen to cook something with squash and eggplant. I had an idea in my head and I start cooking when I realize it won’t work, I was missing some ingredients.

In the middle of the cooking process I changed the recipe and decided to do vegetable noodles. Till then, I was cooking in olive oil ½ eggplant, a red pepper and a squash.

So I started a new adventure, no recipe and with food I had home. In the end it went better than expecting. My son said he loved them and licked the bowl and my husband ate 2 bowls. That means mission accomplished.

Ingredients:

  • ½ eggplant
  • 1 squash
  • 1 red pepper
  • Olive oil
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • 1 teaspoon mustard
  • 1 teaspoon paprika
  • 300 ml tomato sauce
  • 150 ml soy sauce
  • 1 teaspoon dry parsley
  • 1 teaspoon basil
  • 1 teaspoon rosemary
  • 3 cloves garlic

Directions:

In a frying pan put some olive oil, mustard and garlic. Let it tender for a bit. Add the squash, eggplant and pepper (cut and fried in olive oil). Mix all vegetables and then add tomato sauce, soy sauce and let cook. After 10 minutes add the spices: parsley, basil, rosemary, paprika, salt and pepper. Give it a go another 10 minutes so all the flavor mix together.

Meanwhile prepare 250 g noodles. They are so easy to do. Read the label, because some need more time some need less time. When noodles are done put them on top of the vegetables and mix them together. Add salt and pepper if needed. Enjoy!

vegetable noodles

64 thoughts on “Vegetable noodles

  1. HI, Thanks for stopping by my blog and liking my post on – the number on the scale just won’t go down. I am enjoying my visit to your little corner of the blogosphere. Great photos!

  2. Have you tried zucchini to make noodles with a spiralizer? It eliminates the noodles. Just add them at the end of the dish as if they cook too long they turn to mush. We’ve done this with other noodle dishes and even spaghetti. It eliminates a lot of carbs and keeps it all vegetarian.

  3. I like your combination of flavors, especially the addition of red pepper. I am always so afraid of putting peppers (green in special) in the food as the taste it is too strong. The red and yellow are quite milder and sweeter in taste in comparison to green.

Leave a comment