Maine dish · Photography

Ratatouille

ratatouille

Do you remember my New Scary List ?

  1. Macaroons
  2. Beef bourguignon
  3. Lamb
  4. Coq au vin (Chicken in wine sauce )
  5. Sushi
  6. Croquembouche (Caramel-glazed cream puffs)
  7. Tacos
  8. Enchiladas
  9. Escargots a la Bourguignonne (Snails in garlic-herb butter)
  10. Ratatouille

ratatouille

I just manage to do the last one from my list: Ratatouille. It’s Julia Child’s recipe from her book. There are her ingredients and way of cooking, but I changed the way I put them in the casserole, because I wanted to have the plate from the movie “Ratatouille”. It looked so great, that it made me go for this recipe from my list.

Ratatouille is a French eggplant casserole with tomatoes, onions, peppers and zucchini.  This amazing dish will make your kitchen smell like heaven, a small pieces of Provence. You can serve it cold or hot and goes perfect with cold meat.

A really good ratatouille will take hours, like mine did. Each vegetable is cooked separately and then it is arranged in the casserole for the mix. In this way, you will keep the shape of each vegetable.

Ingredients:

  • 1 eggplant
  • 2 zucchini (yellow and green)
  • 1 olive oil
  • 1 ½ cup yellow onion thinly sliced
  • 1 cup green peppers
  • 2 cloves mashed garlic
  • 6 tomatoes cut in thinly slices
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Olive oil
  • 1 ½ tomato juice homemade
  • 3 tablespoon minced parsley

ratatouille

Directions:

Peel the eggplant. Cut the eggplant and the zucchinis in round thinly slices. Place the vegetables in a bowl and toss with salt. Let stand for 30 minutes. Drain. Dry each slice in a towel.

One layer at a time, sauté the eggplant, and then the zucchinis in hot olive oil about a minute on each side to brown very lightly. Remove to a side dish.

In the same skillet, cook the onions and peppers slowly in olive oil for about 10 minutes, or until tender but not browned. Stir in the garlic and season to taste.

Add the homemade tomato juice on the onions and peppers. I forgot to tell you that I add to the onions my dish signature (A teaspoon of mustard). Season with salt and pepper. Cover the skillet and cook over low heat for 5 minutes. Uncover and raise heat and boil until juice has almost entirely evaporated.

Place half of the tomato mixture in the bottom of the casserole and sprinkle over it 1 tablespoon of parsley. Arrange one slice of eggplant, yellow zucchini, tomato, green zucchini, and so on till you put all the vegetables. Finish with the remaining tomato mixture and parsley.

Cover the casserole and simmer over low heat for 10 minutes. Uncover, raise heat slightly and cook uncovered for about 15 minutes more. Be careful with your heat. Do not let the vegetables scorch in the bottom of the casserole.

Serve it cold or hot. Enjoy!

 

94 thoughts on “Ratatouille

  1. My mom used to make it when the neighbor’s zucchini and tomato plants went into high production and she had more than she could use. The plated presentation is lovely.

  2. Ratatouille – a favourite at our place, and always tastes better the next day. A wonderful dish and your presentation and photos make it look more delicious!

  3. Here’s the recipe from the French cookbook that Disney put out after the movie. I’m not sure it was ever done in English for the American market.

    Ratatouille-touille-touil

    * Prep

    20 min. * Cook

    75 min.

    “Recipe from “Ratatouille,” the Disney movie.” Ingredients

    * 1 onion, sliced * 2 garlic cloves, inced * 750 g. canned whole tomatoes (or diced) * 1 eggplant, diced * 2 zucchini, diced

    * 2 pepper (1 green, 1 red), sliced * thyme * 6 T. olive oil * salt

    Directions

    1. Put 2 T. oil in skillet. 2. Add eggplant and salt and saute about 5 min. 3. Remove from skillet. 4. Add oil to skillet and saute zucchini 5 min.; remove. 5. Add oil and saute peppers. 6. In saucepan, saute onions and garlic in oil. 7. Add tomatoes and cook into a sauce; add thyme, salt and pepper. 8. To cook on the stove, add veggies to the sauce and cook 1 hour. 9. To cook in the oven, bake at 350 for 1 hour.

    ________________________________

  4. One of my favorite autumn meals AND one of my favorite movies. 🙂 Beautiful work with your plating and photography!

  5. I got really inspired and will start trying out your recipes. I have always wanted to make delicious food but I always run out of ideas and don’t know what I should start with. Do you have a few posts you could suggest for a beginner? Something quite easy and tasty?

  6. This looks incredible! I love you’re photography too.

    Ratatouille is a great film, I definitely think I need to pay more attention to animated films for recipe inspiration. Cloudy with a side of meatballs may have to be the first stop though…

  7. This looks delicious! May be a recipe I try at some point 🙂
    I also do food related posts on my blog which I would love if you could check out and let me know what you think! I followed (can’t wait for more of your posts!) and would really appreciate a return follow too!

    Welcome!

  8. Ratatouille is also the title of a successful animation film with a rat chef made by Pixar. As a matter of fact I had come out with such works some ten years before the film was made but unfortunately I couldn’t reach any publishers or animation firms because they are basically closed shops. Eventually thanks to amazon I was able to publish one of my illustrated food and cookery fantasy works titled: “The Lioness Pastry Cook – An African Dreamtale” that is also a long poem and a musical and others will soon follow. Anyway, ratatouille is really a nice and colourful dish but in Sicilian cuisine there is a sort of similar dish that came before the ratatouille called Caponata that is really nice.

  9. Ratatouille is a dish I have on my list and I was trying to look for interesting methods to make this dish and then I bumped on to your blog. And bang you have ratatouille recipe!! I will make this one pretty soon!!

Leave a comment