Desserts · Photography

Cake with pears for autumn days

cake with pears

Fall is in full swing. I love the cool frost of autumn just until the leaves finish changing and fall, crumpled, at the bottom of the tree. Various shades of bright red and orange leaves take me back to the many months of my childhood years that were spent watching the leaves fall softly, feeling them sweep across my face on their way to the ground.

Hiking up mountains. Biking down city streets. Running on trails. Fall is the perfect season to revisit the great outdoors, and fall in love with it all over again.

It’s great when you and your son don’t have a terrible cold. But, because I am stuck in the house feeling like dying, I found myself looking to cook something to make me feel better, something that will go so beautiful with a hot chocolate.

So, here it is one of my comfort food, a cake with pears from my garden, which makes my day better.

cake with pears

Ingredients:

  • 5 eggs
  • 4 sweet and soft pears
  • 10 tablespoons sugar
  • 10 tablespoons flour
  • 7 tablespoons milk
  • 7 tablespoons oil
  • 4 tablespoons cocoa
  • 1 baking powder

cake with pears

Directions:

Line a base of baking form with a parchment paper. Preheat an oven to 200°C/180°C fan.

Separate the eggs. In a bowl whisk the whites until soft peaks. Add the sugar and whisk it till it dissolved. Add the egg yolks, milk and oil. With a spoon add the flour, baking soda and cocoa and mix it very softly.

Pour the mixture into the prepared form. Press the pears in, stem end up. Bake for 40 minutes or  until a toothpick inserted into the cake part comes out clean. Allow to cool in the pan, then gently remove the cake from the pan to a rack to cool completely.

Sprinkle with icing sugar before serving. Serve with a cream or ice-cream. Enjoy!

I enter this recipe in The Great Denby Cake Off Competition .

cake with pears

200 thoughts on “Cake with pears for autumn days

  1. Since you will be moderating this comment before it appears … the English teacher in me has to tell you that your second paragraph is a beautiful example of a dangling participle. Fall is not hiking, biking or running. You are. Please forgive this intrusion into your wonderful article. And don’t approve this comment — trash it.
    ~ Kathleen

  2. Thank you for liking a post on my blog, http://chiqutam.wordpress.com/ It honestly means the world ❤
    I just had a quick question; being a 14-year-old blogger, it isn't easy to get traffic on my site. Seeing as how you seem to have done that magnificently, could you give me a few tips??
    Thanks a trillion 😀

  3. Thank you for like my post even though it is in Portuguese, but it will change soon. If you want any of my recipes in English feel free to ask and I provide instantly.

  4. I just canned some pears last week. I’m thinking of trying this with some of my pear halves.
    It might be yummy.
    By the way, thanks for stopping by my blog.
    I do think I love yours. Yum!

  5. I’m going to make this beauty tomorrow. Can you specify how much baking powder I need? Is it 1 Tablespoon? The list only says “1”.
    Many thanks!
    ~Kathy
    Journeyintofunctionalliving.wordpress.com

  6. Hi, thank you for sharing this recipe. Loved so much this idea of whole pears!! I applied this idea on a simple chocolate cake I often prepare. Next time, I’ll prepare this cake following your recipe.
    All the best,
    Khadija

Leave a comment